Who we are

ILPA’s board of directors is its committee of trustees which is elected annually by the membership.  All members of the committee of trustees are members of ILPA. 

All aspects of ILPA’s work are supported by its secretariat of paid staff.

ILPA’s work is organised into thematic working groups.

All ILPA's work is carried out by its members, supported by the Secretariat. 

To get in touch with any of use please email [email protected] 


The committee of trustees of ILPA

To get in touch with the chair or any of the trustees, please do so by emailing [email protected] 

The trustees are voted for by the membership and elections take place around the Annual General meeting each year in November. If you would like to stand as a trustee and want to know more about what it entails then contact the office [email protected] - we would encourage any members to stand.

Chair: Adrian Berry, Barrister, Garden Court Chambers

Secretary: Ayesha Mohsin, Solicitor and Partner, Luqmani Thompson and Partners

Treasurer:  tbc


Andrea Als

Solicitor and partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Hazar El Chamaa

Solicitor and partner, Penningtons Manches LLP

Vanessa Ganguin

Solicitor and partner, Ganguin Samartin

Natasha Gya Williams

Solicitor, Gya Williams Immigration

Grace McGill

Solicitor, McGill and Co Solicitors

Danielle Cohen

Solicitor, Danielle Cohen Solicitors

Vishal Makol

Solicitor, OTS Solicitors

Bettina Loveday

OISC, Wilford Smith Solicitors

Daniel Rourke

Solicitor, Islington Law Centre

Staff of the Secretariat

Nicole Francis


ILPA Chief Executive

Lana Norris 


Finance Manager with Admin

Helen Williams 

Membership Manager

Paul Erdunast


Legal and Parliamentary Officer

Vishal Misra


Legal Officer

Celina Kin-Armbrust


Training and Communications Officer (currently on Maternity Leave)

Bella Kosmala

Project Manager, Strategic Legal Fund

Emmanuel Benedetti

Finance Assistant, Strategic Legal Fund

Becca McNulty

Training Officer (Maternity Cover)

Amira Rady


Office Administrator


ILPA Working Groups

ILPA organises its work into working groups.   The current range of working groups and their convenors is shown below.  All convenors are members of ILPA.   To contact a working group convenor, please email [email protected]  ILPA also convenes ad hoc working groups around particular topics and the staff can help you identify who would be the best person to speak to on a particular topic.

Courts and Tribunals

Sonia Lenegan, Duncan Lewis Solicitors

Rowena Moffatt, Doughty Street


Email group only

Economic Migration

Tom Brett-Young, Veale Wasbrough Vizards LLP

Rose Carey, Charles Russell Speechlys LLP

James Perrott, Macfarlanes LLP 


Elspeth Guild, Kingley Napley LLP

Alison Hunter, Wesley Gryk Solicitors LLP

Jonathan Kingham, LexisNexis

Family and personal

Sue Shutter

Katie Dilger, LexisNexis

Removals, Detention and Offences

Pierre Mahklouf, Bail for Immigration Detainees (BID)

Jed Pennington, Bhatt Murphy Solicitors

Nina Rathbone Pullen Wilson Solicitors LLP

Legal Aid

Ayesha Mohsin, Luqmani Thompson and Partners

New York

Tanya Goldfarb, Clintons

Jenny Stevens, Laura Devine Solicitors

North West

Lucy Mair, Garden Court North Chambers

Denise McDowell, Greater Manchester Immigration Aid Unit (GMIAU)

Emma Morgan, DAC Beachcroft LLP


Nicola Braganza, Garden Court Chambers

Annie Campbell, Camden Community Law Centre

South West

Sophie Humes, Avon and Bristol Law Centre

Luke Piper, Simpson Millar LLP

Marie Christine Allaire Rousse, South West Law


Kirsty Thomson, JustRight Scotland

Jamie Kerr, Burness Paull

Darren Stephenson McGill and Co Solicitors


Mandie Sewa, Moore Blatch LLP


contact [email protected] 

Yorkshire and North East

Ish Ahmed, Bankfield Heath Solicitors

Christopher Cole, Parker Rhodes and Hickmott Solicitors 

Emma Brooksbank, Freeths LLP

Nichola Carter, Carter Thomas Solicitors

Bryony Rest, David Gray Solicitors



Find immigration law advice

Click Here